Southampton, ON

Southampton’s original name was Saugeen, meaning “mouth of the river”. The town is located on the shore of Lake Huron, at the mouth of the Saugeen River. The town plot was surveyed in 1851. Expectations for the town’s development were ambitious and the commissioner of Crown Lands was determined to name it Southampton after the bustling seaport in England.

The region had been known to fur traders and missionaries for some time. The first settlers engaged in commercial fishing and traded furs with the local Ojibway Indians. Soon after, sailing and trading along the lakeshore took place. In 1851 the “Saugeen” post office opened and within two years the location became a customs port of entry.

The earliest industries included a steam sawmill, a steam grist mill and distillery, woolen and weaving mills, commercial fishing, and shipbuilding. Eventually the furniture factories became of great importance to the economy, as well as a foundry and tannery.

Southampton was incorporated as a village in 1858 and by 1904, it was eligible for town status.

In 1998, Southampton amalgamated with Saugeen Township and the town of Port Elgin to form the town of Saugeen Shores.


Ahkewenzie / Ahkiwenzie / Akiwenzie, Leslie
Anaquot, Jerry Elijah
Anderson, Henry Bielbie
Anderson, Louis
Ard, William Craige
Atkinson, George
Beavan, Mabel Eveline
Bell, Robert James ‘Bob’
Beresford, Edward Ambrose
Beresford, Laird Redford
Besito, David Alexander
Besito, Elias
Besito, John
Besito, Joseph James
Best, Harold
Black, Keith
Black, Ralph George
Boddy, John Thompson
Boettger, Alvin
Boyle, Ernest
Breckow, Howard August
Buckley, John Albert
Buckley, Richard Earl
Buckley, Walter Harvey
Buckley, William Alexander
Burgess, Earl Edward
Burgess, Easton Gordon
Burgess, Thomas
Burns, James
Burns, Myrtle (MacDonald)
Burrows, George Francis
Burrows, Marme
Byers, Eldwyn Lambert
Byers, Lawrence O.
Cairns, Norman Orville
Cameron, Joseph
Cameron, Percy Wilfred
Campbell, John
Carson, Frederick James
Carson, William Harry
Clancy, John Joseph
Clark, Pryse
Court, William Richard
Courtnell, Frederick
Craig, James
Currie, John David
Currie, John James
Currie, Thomas
Currie, William Thomas
Danard, Gilbert
Davis, Edwin George
deRoux (nee Sees), Kathleen Thelma
Dobson, Earl Alvin
Dobson, Robert William
Doll, Lincoln
Donaldson, William Charles
Doran, Morice Seaman
Durst, Franklin Nelson
Eagles, Albert Bruce ("Ab")
Eagles, Clarence Gordon
Eagles, William (Sr.)
Eagles (Jr.), William
Eby, Garfield
Eby, Harvey J.
Farmer, Thomas
Fenton, Admiral James
Fenton, Clarence
Ferguson, Daniel Arthur
Field, Edgar Austin
Fisher, Edward Bushy
Foster, James Clyde
Foster, Logie
Foster, Thomas Peter
France, Melvin Graham
Gateman, Otto Christopher
Gillies, Donald Albert
Golden, Charles Richard
Golden, Thomas Albert
Grasser, Ivan
Gray, Alexander Angus
Gray, John Andrew
Gray, John McKenzie
Greathead, William
Gregg, John Alexander
Grieve, George ‘Grant’
Grieve, John ‘Gordon’
Guyer, George
Haggins, Andrew V.H.
Harmer, Herbert Wellington
Harrison, Laurence Tolmy
Henderson, David
Hill, Jacob Bruce
Hogg, John Andrew
Hopkins, Charles Henry
Hopkins, Charles Henry Jr.
Hunt, William George
Hutton, James Lorne
Hymmen, Harvey George
Inkster, Robert Stratton
James, Jessie
James, Joseph
Jamieson, S.
Jeffery, Lorne Hugh
John, Charles
John, William Savage
John / Johns, Earnest
John / Johns, Maurice
Joshua, Arthur Henry
Kabashkung, Lazarus
Kahgee, Amos
Kahgee, John
Kearns, Harvey Ross
Kelly, Myles Michael
Kennedy, Alexander
Kerr, Robert (Bob) Floyd
Kewaquom (Kewoquom), Albert
Kewenzie / Akiwenzie / Ahkewenzie, Isaac
Kewoquom, Christopher
Kidd, William Elijah
Knechtel, Arthur
Knechtel, Clarence Dobson
Knechtel, Clayton
Knechtel, Orland
Knowles, William John
Knox, Orvell
Koepke, Gordon Royal
Larsen, Robert C.
Leslie, Kelvin Andrew
Longe, Edward
Longe, John Alexander
Longmire, George Christopher
MacAulay, Alexander Murray
MacDonald, John Murdoch
MacKay, Donald Malcolm ‘Mac’
MacRitchie, Murdo Murray
Madwayosh, Henry Wellington
Mandeno, Doris
Manley, Glen Stanley
Marchello, Steve
Marshall, Harold
Masterson, Harold Edwin ‘Fritz’
Masterson, Lloyd Burton
Masterson, Ronald Wesley
McArthur, George "Royal"
McAulay, Alexander
McAulay, Murdock William
McAulay, Neil
McAulay, Patrick
McCaw, Lawrence Murray "Mike"
McFarlane, Hugh
McGuire, Gordon "Mickey"
McHaney, Harold Samuel
McIntyre, Dougal
McKee, George Humphries
McKenzie, Allan
McLean, John Kenneth
McLellan, Vincent Jamieson
McLeod, Alexander Keith
McLeod, Duncan Donald
McLeod, Glen Stewart
McLeod, John
McLeod, John George
McLeod, Overton
McNabb, Alexander
McRae, William Hugh Roy
McVittie, Earl John
Meyer (Meyers), Albert (Bert) Henry
Minard, Aubrey Ivan
Mitchell, David
Mitchell, Elias
Mitchell, Solomon
Mitchell, Wellington
Morgan, Orville John
Morrison, John Donald
Morrison, Lewis
Morton, Joseph Francis
Muir, James Stewart
Nashkawa, David
Nashkewa (Naskawa), Edward
Nawash, Daniel
Nawash, David
Nawash, George
Nawash, Stafford David
Nelson, Howard
Nickel, Allan Victor
Nickel, Clarence John
Nuttall, Orland
Osborne, Cecil Robert
O`Bright, Harry Thomas
Patchell, Orland Doyle
Patterson, Fred
Peach, Charles
Pedonquot, Joseph
Pegelo, Norman John
Peirson, a.k.a. Pierson, John
Pentesco, William Joseph
Pentney, Robert George
Petonquot, Paul
Petonquot, Thomas
Petonquot (Pedonquot), Paul
Plant, Harvey Lambert
Plante, Chester ‘Douglas’
Plaunt, Alexander
Powell, William Nicholson
Pringle, George Alfred
Pudden, Herbert Henry
Ribey, Elmer George
Ritchie, James
Ritchie, Louis
Ritchie, Peter
Robertson, Roy Malcolm
Robertson, Stewart Douglas
Robertson, Stewart Mills
Robinson, Cleveland
Root, Joe (Joseph)
Root, Winford
Root (Roote), Alexander
Rourke, Calvin Charles
Saunders, Angus Graham
Saunders, Gordon Lewis
Schaefer, Ruby Katherin
Schwalm, Arthur Wesley
Scott, Patrick John
Scott, William Henry
Scott, William Sumner
Seabrook, Harold Stanley
Seibert, Percy T.
Shanks, Kathleen "Kaye"
Shannon, Thomas Frederick
Shannon, Wyndam Earl
Shawbedees, Isaiah
Shawbedees, Walter
Shields, John William
Shular, Herbert ‘Lyle’
Shular, Elmer Earl
Shular, Gerald
Shular, Glen Allan
Shular, John
Shular, Louis
Shular, Oliver Eby
Signock, Daniel
Smith, Chester Lawrence
Smith, Sidney William
Solomon, Matthew
Solomon, Robert Arthur
Spencer, Cameron Inkster
Stewart, Charles Hakwes Todd
Stewart, Thomas
Streeter, ‘Les’ Robert Leslie
Subject, Bruce John
Sutherland, Angus George
Symond(s), William Moses
Teahan, Edgar Alexander
Teahan, John Patrick
Tranter, Joseph "Lionel"
Tranter, Josiah
Tranter, Lionel Beatty
Tranter, Richard
Tranter, William
Tranter, William Victor
Trout, John Harold
Tuckfield, Francis Edward
Tuckfield, Henry Charles
Uhrig, John A. "Jack"
Vernon, Oscar D.
Wabazee, Elias
Wabazee, Elijah
Wahbagana, Peter
Waltenburg, Albert George
Weatherall, Gordon Allen
Wentworth, Ralph Skilton
Wesley, John
White, Robert Milton
Williams, Albert
Williams, Elias
Williams, Paul
Yahba, John Henry
Zimmerman, Edward Frederick