Saugeen Township, ON

The Township of Saugeen is the smallest township in Bruce County. Its name loosely translates to “mouth of the river”. It borders on Arran and Elderslie Townships in the east, on Bruce Township in the southwest, and on the waters of Lake Huron in the northwest. There are no villages within the township’s boundaries.

The survey of Saugeen Township into farm lots was commissioned in 1851. In the early years, the town of Southampton and the village of Port Elgin formed an integral part of the township. At an early date in the history of the county, Saugeen Township was of sufficient importance to be one of the first two townships to be created into a separate municipality.

It held its first municipal election in January 1854.

In 1998, Saugeen Township amalgamated with the towns of Port Elgin and Southampton to form the Town of Saugeen Shores.


Ahkewenzie / Ahkiwenzie / Akiwenzie, Leslie
Ard, William Earl
Armstrong, James
Atkinson, Ralph Edgerton
Atkinson, Robert John
Atkinson, Roy Campbell
Avis, Lorne Garnet
Avis, Rodney S.
Bain, Andrew Sutherland
Barnes, Thomas Alfred
Beech, Reginald William
Begg, James Stuart
Bell, Duncan
Bell, Robert James
Bell, Sidney
Beresford, Edward Ambrose
Beresford, Laird Redford
Berndt, Stuart L.
Black, Ralph George
Boddy, John Thompson
Boettger, Albert
Boyle, Ernest
Breckow, Howard August
Brooks, George Albert
Brown, Donald James (D.J.)
Brown, Neil S.
Brown, Robert James ‘Bert’
Brusso, Mervyn Gordon
Buckley, John Albert
Bulger, Thomas Charles
Burgess, Earl Edward
Burrows, Francis Charles
Byers, Cecil ‘Owen’
Byers, Lawrence Osbourne
Byers, Matthew Albert
Cairns, John Alexander
Cairns, Norman Orville
Cairns, William
Caldwell, William George
Campbell, John
Campbell, William Gordon
Carson, Frederick James
Carson, William Henry ‘Harry’
Carter, William Reginald ‘Reg’
Chapple, David Sylvester
Chess, Wellington Alexander ‘Alex’
Christian, Arthur Minion
Christie, Oliver
Christman, William ‘Melvin’
Clark, Malcolm
Clark, Pryse
Clazie, Edward William
Clazie, John "Jack"
Cobean, Felicia Rena
Cole, Harris Rosewald
Courtnell, Frederick
Craig, Robert Elroy
Crosswell, Charles Henry
Cummings, Gordon
Currie, John James
Cutsforth (Manley), Doris Grace
Davey, Wilfred "Arthur"
deRoux (nee Sees), Kathleen Thelma
Dobson, Robert William
Donaldson, William Charles
Doran, Morice Seaman
Duck , William Raymond
Eagles, Clarence Gordon
Eagles, William (Sr.)
Eaton, George Andrew
Eby, Garfield
Eidt, Vera
Ernst, Lloyd Sylvester
Fenton, Admiral James
Fleming, Andrew Barrie
Fleming, Samuel
Foster, James Clyde
Foster, Logie
France, Melvin Graham
Fraser, James Eadie
Fraser, Luella Blanche (Lee)
Geddes, John Rowand
Giesz, Wesley Rosswell
Gilbert, Charles Morris
Gillies, Donald Albert
Gowanlock, James Laidlaw
Gowanlock, Robert George
Grahame, Sydney Alfred
Grasser, Ivan
Greathead, William
Gregg, John Alexander
Grieve, George "Grant"
Grieve, John "Gordon"
Guyer, George
Haggins, Andrew V.H.
Haines, Reginald Joseph
Hammond, George
Hammond, Helen Mary (Smith)
Harman, Stanley Milton
Harmon, William Milton
Harrison, Laurence Tolmy
Helwig, Ervin
Hendry, Earl James
Hendry, William John
Herron, John Christopher Hutcheson
Hettrick, Norman Gilbert
Hodge, Joseph Arthur
Hodge, Richard
Holloway, Albert
Howe, John Amer
Jackman, Percy John
Jackson, Thomas
Jamieson, John McMillan
Jamieson, S.
John, Earnest
John, Maurice
Jones, James Edward
Joshua, Arthur Henry
Kewenzie / Akiwenzie / Ahkewenzie, Isaac
Kidd, William Elijah
Knechtel, Arthur
Knechtel, Clayton
Knechtel, Orland
Koepke, Gordon Royal
Kolb, William Hugh
Lamont, Donald McTavish
Lawrie, Alexander (Sandy)
Leeder, Arthur Iden
Leeder, Herbert Nicholas
Leggett, Russell Oliver
Leslie, Kelvin Andrew
Longe, John Alexander
Lyness, Llewyllan Wilbert
MacDonald, David Gordon
MacDonald, John Murdoch
MacIntosh, Robert
MacKay, Donald Malcolm "Mac"
MacRitchie, Murdo Murray
Mallow, Menno W.
Manley, Glen Stanley
Marshall, Harold
Martin, Roscoe Colin "Kelly"
Masterson, Harold Edwin "Fritz"
Masterson, Lloyd Burton
McArthur, George "Royal"
McArthur, Harvey Jacob
McArthur, John Charles
McCaw, Lawrence Murray "Mike"
McCulloch, Donald Charles
McCulloch, Hugh Douglas
McCulloch, Mary Sophia "Effa"
McCulloch, William "Watson"
McGillivray, Donald Duncan
McGillivray, Murray Alexander
McGillivray, Ross E.
McGillvray, John "Ernest"
McIntyre, Donald (Dan)
McKechnie, William B.
McKenzie, Albert (Bert) Ralph
McKenzie, Allan
McLaren, James
McLean, John Kenneth
McLeod, Elizabeth Nora Campbell
McMillan, Orval Stewart
McNabb, Alexander
McPherson, Douglas Edward
McRae, William Hugh Roy
Meyer (Meyers), Albert (Bert) Henry
Miller, Beatrice "Jean"
Miller, James
Minard, Aubrey Ivan
Mitchell, Elias
Morton, Joseph Francis
Moulton, Morris Alexander
Muir, George Harris
Muir, John Francis (Jack)
Murphy, Harry Francis
Nahrgang, Lloyd George
Nawash, Daniel
Nawash, Stafford David
Nelson, George Whitford
Nelson, Howard
Nelson, Percy
Nickason, Elmer James
Nickel, Clarence John
Nunn, Joseph
Nuttall, John Howard Deacon
O'Bright, Harry Thomas
Parr, Arthur Howard
Patterson, Sidney Marshall
Peirson, a.k.a. Pierson, John
Pentney, Robert George
Plant, Harvey Lambert
Plante, Chester "Douglas"
Pringle, George Alfred
Ransome, Robert Edgar ‘Ted’
Reany, Richard Roy
Reinhart, Irvin "Emery"
Ribey, Nelson John
Riebel, Albert Edwin
Riebel, Douglas
Riebel, Grant Dermot
Riebel, William Eugene
Ritchie, Peter
Robertson, Ross M.
Robinson, Cleveland
Ross, Jessie Macaulay
Rourke, Calvin Charles
Rushton, John Dean
Saleman, James Henry
Salmon, Morley Bruce
Saunders, Gordon Lewis
Schaefer, Ruby Katherin
Schell, Lawrence Robert
Schildroth, George Joseph
Schwalm, Arthur Wesley
Scott, Gomer Marsden
Scott, Patrick John
Scott, William Sumner
Seabrook, Harold Stanley
Shields, John William
Shular, Herbert "Lyle"
Signock, Daniel
Smith, Bert Charles
Smith, Harold L.
Solomon, Matthew
Sparling, Clifford Roy
Stevenson / Stephenson, Elwood Robert "Bobby"
Stewart, Alexander Esplen
Stewart, Hugh
Stoakley, Arnold Ernest
Stoddart, James Douglas
Streeter, George Edward
Sturgeon, John Reginald (Jack)
Sutherland, Angus George
Switzer, George Edward
Switzer, Milford William
Teahan, John Patrick
Tennyson, Calvin Jamieson
Thede, Charles "Irwin"
Thede, Dean
Thede, Edgar Rushton "Ted"
Thomas, Samuel Kingston
Thompson, R.
Tomlinson, William Rae Coverdale
Tranter, Joseph "Lionel"
Tranter, Josiah
Tranter, William
Tranter, William Victor
Travis, Gordon "Nelson"
Tuckfield, Francis Edward
Uhrig, John A. "Jack"
Vaupel, Frederick Leroy
Vaupel, Raymond Ernest
Vernon, Oscar D.
Wade, Willard Johnston
Wahbagana, Elijah
Walker, Sydney Brooks
Wallace, James Scott
Weatherdon, Frances "Roy"
Webb, Walter Ernest
Welsh, Keith Alexander
Wentworth, Ralph Skilton
White, Robert Milton
Willoughby, William Thomas
Yahbee, Ardwin John Ahyahba ‘Jack’