Ripley, ON

Within the geographical boundaries of Huron Township, the community of Ripley was named with the establishment of a post office there in 1856. In 1874, the post office name was changed to “Dingwall,” but the railway which arrived that year retained the name “Ripley;” the post office was renamed Ripley in 1880. The community became a Police Village in 1898, governed by a Board of Trustees. In 1925, Ripley incorporated as a Village and took on a formal council.

On January 1, 1999, Huron Township amalgamated with Kinloss Township and the villages of Lucknow and Ripley to form the Township of Huron-Kinloss.

Robertson, Norman. “The History of the County of Bruce and of the minor municipalities therein.” Toronto: William Briggs, 1906.


Aiken, Gordon Harvey
Baird, Patrick
Beaton, John A. ("Jack")
Bell, Clifford William
Bell, Norval Delbert
Blackman, Frederick
Blue, George James
Bridge, Harold Percy
Buckingham, Wilmer Roy
Cameron, Archie James
Cameron, Peter Edwin
Campbell, Alexander Collin
Campbell, Duncan Cameron
Carnegie, Donald Hugh
Clark, George Melvin
Cotton, Harry James
Cox, David
Edwards, Fred
Elliot, Harold Richard
Emmerton, Bernice
Ferris, Thomas Roy
Gillies, Murdock Lawrence
Gossel, Daniel Agustus
Gossel, Edwin
Greenwood, Walter
Hannaford, John
Hilton, Arthur
Hine, Percy William
Hodgins, John Everett
Hunt, Bernard Leo
Irwin, OBE, William Roy "Sambo"
Jennings, Herbert
Johnson, Albert
King, Edward
MacAuley, Angus Archie
MacDonald, Alexander Sutherland
MacDonald, Donald J.
MacDonald, Donald W.
MacDonald, James Cameron
MacDonald, John Alexander
MacDonald, Mado Daniel
MacGregor, Donald Gregor
MacGregor, John Alexander ’Jack’
MacIntosh, Donald Andrew
MacKay, John A. / Jack
Mackay, William ’Elmer’
MacKenzie, Kenneth
MacKenzie, Robert Colin
MacKinnon, Peter Bruce
Macklem, Frank Alexander
MacLay, Donald Kenneth
MacLean, John Angus
MacLennan, Neil
MacLeod, D. Burton
MacLeod, Duncan D.
MacLeod, Graham
MacLeod Hogben, Joan
MacMurchy / McMurchy, Samuel
Martin, Glenn
Martyn, David E.
Martyn, Donald Bruce
Martyn, Eugene Franklin
Mason, Donald
McAuley, Allan ‘Cameron’
McCormick, Keith Robert
McCreath, William Patterson
McDonald, Donald
McDonald, Norman
McIntosh, Robert William
McKay, Robert Andrew
McLay, Murdock
McLean, John Angus
McLeod, Alexander S.
McLeod, John Alexander
McLeod, John Angus
McLeod, Peter
McMurchy / MacMurchy, Allister / Duncan McAllister
McPhail, John
Montgomery, Robert James
Moore, William Jordon
Morgan, Joseph L.
Morgan, William Richard
Munn, Gordon Thompson
Munn, John Duncan
Munn, Lionel Trantor
Munn, Murray Stewart
Murray, Neil
Newby, Baden Powell
Nimmo, Lester Graham
Norman, Charles
Paquette, Donald Leo
Parsons, James Ernest
Peakall, Stanley William
Pollock, Carmen Irving Elliott
Pollock, Clarence Edward
Pollock, Darwin Ray
Pollock, Dawson Henry
Pollock, Melville Wesley
Pollock, Norval Edward
Reavie, John McLellan
Reid, Leonard Russell
Reynolds, Daniel Charles
Ross, Andrew
Sanford, David
Scott, Richard
Smith, Donald A.
Snowdon, Johnston Lawrence
Sproule, Hugh
Summers, George
Swatman, George
Syder, William Augustus
Tope, Blair
Toupe, Blair
Touzel, Sydney Alfred
Towle, Robert Sidney
Tullock (Tulloch), Harry Valentine
Veitch, Harry Stewart
Watson, John Robert
Welsh, Murray
Wharton, John Freeman
Whitby, Joseph
Wren, Charles
Wright, William Jacob