Mildmay, ON

Mildmay began to form as a community in 1867 when Samuel Merner surveyed part of lot 26, Concession C. At that time, the community was called Mernersville, although the post office established in 1868 was known as Mildmay. When the Wellington, Grey and Bruce railway arrived in Bruce County at the end of 1871, its first stop was at Mildmay. Mildmay incorporated as a village in 1918, although its population would have been sufficient for such incorporation in the 1880s.

In 1998, Mildmay joined with the Township of Carrick to form the Township of Mildmay-Carrick. The following year, Mildmay-Carrick amalgamated with Teeswater-Culross to form South Bruce, choosing Teeswater as the seat of the municipality.

Sources: “History of the County of Bruce, Volume 1” by Norman Robertson, “History of the County of Bruce, Volume 2” by Norman McLeod.


Baetz, Wilson Norman Delford
Barnard, David Russell
Baynton, Edgar Thomas
Beck, Arthur Joseph
Buhlman, Albert Joseph
Buhlman, Francis
Cassidy, Harvey Jerome
Cronin, Francis Edward ‘Frank’
Cronin, John Joseph
Cronin, John Michael
Cronin, Michael Joseph
Cronin, William Edward
Culliton, Rene Howard
Dahms, Otto Conrad Eldon
Dahms, Wellington Frank
Dieter, John George
Dietrich, Robert Joseph
Dosman, Alfred George
Ellis, George Ira
Ernewein, Norman Alvin
Grubb, Carl Joseph Magnus
Hafermehl / Hafermahl, William Henry
Harcourt, Harold Chapman
Heberle, John Henry Stephen
Heinbecker, August
Helwig, George
Herringer, Leonard Joseph
Hesch, Clifford Francis
Hickling, Henry Stephen
Hinsperger, Albert William ("Misch")
Hogg, David Gordon
Hundt, Alexander J.
Hunstein, Willis John Clayton
Hutton, William Russell
Kaufman, Frank Ernst
Kaufman, Norman Emerson
Keating, Richard Harry
Keelan, Raymond A.
Kidd, John Tyrwhitt Herman
Kloepfer, Gregory
Kramer, Clarence Basil
Kramer, Raymond John
Liesemer, Harvey John ‘Jiggs’
Lobsinger, John Joseph
Marshall, Albert Wesley
McKay, William Wallace
McPhail, Daniel
Morrison, Vincent
Patten, Bertram Bell
Priebe, Harold Elmer
Pross, George David
Reddon, Garfield
Schefter, Edwin Michael
Schmalz, Charles Albert
Schmalz, Harold Joseph "Harley"
Schmidt, Andrew Leander
Schmidt, Harry Andrew
Schmidt, John George
Schmidt, Lloyd Henry
Schmidt, Sylvia Marie
Schnurr, Henry George
Schnurr, Seraphine John
Schultheis, Anthony Charles
Schultheis, Clarence Richard
Schwalm, Russell George
Scott, Clifford Brown
Seigfried, Michael George
Seiling, Clarence
Smith, George Alexander
Snyder, Gordon
Steffler, Alphonse Anthony John
Stockdale, William "Oscar"
Vogan, John "Henry"
Vogan, Raymond "Ross"
Voisin, Lawrence Peter
Voisin, Wilfred Joseph
Weber, Gerald Joseph
Weber, Norman Cleophas
Weiler, Florian E.
Weiler, George Bernard
Wendt, Charles Edward
Wendt, John "Jack" C.
Wicke, Carl John
Wilhelm, Jerome Francis Henry
Winters, Charles Hugh
Wood, Gordon C.
Ziegler, Erickson Irwin ‘Eric’
Zimmer, Dave A.