Kinloss Township, ON

In 1847, the farms on the first concession of Kinloss (along the border of Huron County) were the first in Bruce County to be surveyed. In 1849, the Durham Road (County Road 9) and adjacent lots were surveyed. These “Free Grant” lands north and south of the Durham Road were offered for sale in 1849. The remaining township lots were offered for sale in September 1854.

Initially, this area was included in The United Townships of Bruce County, a union of eleven townships in 1852 and 1853, with Kincardine Township acting as the “senior township” for municipal purposes. In 1854, only Bruce and Kinloss Townships remained united with Kincardine Township and, in September 1854, Bruce County passed a by-law allowing Kinloss Township to separate from the union, becoming an independent municipality with its first Council election in 1855.

The formation of Lucknow began, within the geographical boundaries of Kinloss Township, with a grant of 200 acres of land to J. Eli Stauffer who agreed to erect a dam and sawmill in 1856-57. James Somerville, who purchased the mill and property, laid out village lots in 1858. The southern portion of Lucknow (within the geographical area of Wawanosh and Ashfield Townships, Huron County) was surveyed into village lots in 1861. Lucknow was incorporated as a village in June 1873, with the first council being elected in January 1874. In June 1873, both Bruce County and Huron County passed by-laws to annex Lucknow, situated on the border of the two counties. It took just over a year for the Lieutenant-Governor to issue a proclamation annexing Lucknow to Bruce County.

On January 1, 1999, Kinloss Township amalgamated with Huron Township and the villages of Lucknow and Ripley to form the Township of Huron-Kinloss.

Robertson, Norman. “The History of the County of Bruce and of the minor municipalities therein.” Toronto: William Briggs, 1906.


Abbott, Henry
Aitchinson, Cleveland
Aitchison, Alymer
Alexander, Joseph Henry
Baker, James Daniel
Bannerman, Andrew
Bannerman, Harold Herbert
Bannerman, William Ernest
Breckles, Walter F. A.
Buchanan, Robert Donald
Buckingham, Eldon William
Burns, James Donald
Burt, Charles Edward "Ted"
Burt, Robert Howe
Burt, William Andrew
Bushell, Edbert Thompson
Bushell, Lomax William Nathaniel
Bushell, Morley John
Bushell, Perry James Smith
Button, John James
Button, Russell Fulton
Cameron, Kenneth
Campbell, Duncan Cameron
Campbell, Duncan Cameron
Carruthers, John Collins
Casemore, William Roy
Clark, George Melvin
Colwell, Albert
Cox, David
Dawson, Francis Alexander
Elliott, John Erwin
England, Donald James
England, John Harold (Jack)
England, John Park
English, Bertie George
Fisher, John Murdoch ‘Jack’
Fisher, Robert
Gaunt, Beth Mellow
Gaunt, Joseph ‘Harold’
Graham, John ‘Rennie’
Graham, Neil Campbell
Habick, Andrew
Hayes, Alfred Nathaniel
Henderson, Andrew H.
Henderson, Garnet Mills
Henderson, James Robert
Henderson, Lloyd Thomas
Henry, Alexander Bruce
Henry, Anne
Hodgins, John Everett
Howald, Fred
Huffman, Elmer
Hughes, Allister
Hutchison, John Sherwood
Jewitt, William Albert
Johnston, Everette Clayton
Johnstone, William "Howard"
Kennedy, Alexander Dunlop
Kennedy, Alexander William
Kennedy, David George
Kennedy, William
Lane, Rev. Andrew
Lane, Rev. David James
Lavis, James
MacDiarmid, Alexander Duncan
MacDiarmid, Marion Isabel
MacDiarmid, Samuel John
MacDonald, Archibald "Archie" Edward
MacDonald, R. Douglas
MacDonald, Thomas Archibald
MacInnes, John Beaton
MacIntosh, William "Alexander"
MacIntyre, Donald
MacKenzie, Frank Paterson
MacKenzie, John K.
MacKenzie, Thomas Laurier
MacKinnon, Murray
MacPherson, Gordon
MacQuaig, Cora Lorraine
McClenaghan, Doris
McClenaghan, Elwood Irwin
McClenaghan, James "Melvin"
McConnell, William Nelson
McDonald, Alexander Sutherland
McIntosh, Robert William
McKinnon, Peter
McLeod, Angus
McLeod, Leonard
McNall, Ray
Miller, Cecil Orr
Miller, Jacob Herbert
Milne, Fred Elmer
Moffat, David Irving
Moffat, William Douglas
Moore, Stanley
Moore, William Percy
Morrison, Thomas James
Murray, Peter Alphonsus
Needham, John Austin "Jack"
Nettleton, Richard Smith "Dick"
Nichol, Boyd McGregor
Orr, John "Robert" / "Bob"
Orr, Mary Dollena Rudi
Pinnell, Wray William Henry
Portice, Richard James
Portice, William John
Purdon, Hector Donald
Purves, Harold Alexander
Purves, James Fraser
Rathwell, Arnold
Reed, William Selby
Richards, Raymond George
Robinson, Archibald Cecil
Robinson, Charles Joseph
Robinson, George Tyndall
Robinson, Shirley M.
Ross, Don J.
Ross, William "Norman"
Roulston, Clifford James
Scott, Catherine "Velma"
Stimson, Donald A.
Stimson, William John
Taylor, Norman Bruce
Towle, Robert Sidney
Treleaven, Clifford Le Roy
Tweedy, Thomas Osborne
Wall, Allan Lloyd
Webster, Richard Nelson
Welwood, Jean Susannah
Wilson, Thomas Ferguson
Wraith, Wilbert Wesley
Wraith, William "George"