Hepworth, ON

The community of Hepworth grew within the geographical boundaries of the former Amabel Township on the corner of Highway 6 and Bruce County Road 40. In 1865, William Spencer opened a hotel and settlement grew up around it. A post office was established in 1866 and the community was named Hepworth. In 1881-1882, the railway was built through Hepworth, supporting the development of new businesses and industry.

Hepworth was established as a police village pursuant to Bruce County and Grey County by-laws passed in December 1899 and January 1890, leaving the community generally under the jurisdiction of Amabel Township and Keppel Township Councils, but allowing that some decisions could be made by a board of trustees for the village.

In 1907 Hepworth was incorporated as a village, thereafter electing its own village council and reeve.

On January 1, 1999, the Village of Hepworth amalgamated with Albemarle Township, Amabel Township and the Town of Wiarton to form the Town of South Bruce Peninsula.

This list of soldiers was born, or enlisted, or died at Hepworth, Ontario.

a) Mika, Nick, and Helma Mika. “Places in Ontario.” Belleville: Mika Publishing Company, 1997. Print.
b) “At the Crossroads: A History of Hepworth with Anecdotes and Reminiscences.” Allenford: Wm. D. Stewart, 2003. Print.


Adams, Charles Thomas
Amey, James Wesley
Anderson, Duncan
Anderson, Edward Creswell
Armstrong, Leslie Kyle
Atchison, Russell Aubrey
Baldwin, Egerton Ryerson
Beattie, Louis Earle
Beatty, Wilbert
Becker, John Herman
Berry, C.
Bevis, Roy
Brown, Archibald Cormack
Brown, Duncan
Brown, Henry (Harry) ("Buster")
Buckton, Garfield
Case, Andrew Howard
Caswill, Walter
Cleave, David Gladstone
Cleave, James Garfield
Clifford, Joseph
Clifford, Samuel Weston
Cupskey, August
Currie, John James
Currie, Oliver Wilson
Dennet, Thomas James
Doubt, Albert Percival
Draper, James
Draper, William John
Driffill, Charles Edgar
Dymott, Arthur Charles
Ede, George Thomas
Ferguson, A.
Ferrell, James Alfred
Fitter, Archibald
Forbes, Richard Frederick
Gateman, Otto Christopher
Gibson, Sinclair
Greygoose, Alfred George
Hamilton, Wray Edward
Hamley, Eva May
Harris, John Earl
Harrison, George Albert
Hawke, Erastus ‘James’
Holmes, John
Hopkins, Gilbert
Hunt, Alfred Longley
Husband, Harry Charles
Ireton, Samuel
Johnson, Frank Solomon
Johnson / Johnston, Hilton John William
Kearns, Russell George
Kreutzweiser, William Allen
Loucks, John Russell
Masterson, Harold Edwin ‘Fritz’
Masterson, John Lloyd ‘Jack’
Masterson, Lloyd Burton
Masterson, Ronald Wesley
McDonald, Isabel
McGregor, Donald
McKillop, Lorne Clyde
McLean, Malcolm
Mercer, John Aubrey
Mercer, William Gordon
Millard, Roy Atchison Chester
Mitchell, Clarence Oliver
Morley, Joseph
Morton, Clarence John
Morton, David ‘Earl’
Palmer, Edward Bruce
Philp, Keith Lawrence
Pridmore, John
Primmer, Charles Halcome
Primmer, Harry Emerson
Reid, Ernest John
Robinson, Delmer Victor
Rose, Stuart Garfield
Rourke, Clayton Lawson
Rourke, Stanley Neil
Rowan, George Nelson
Rusk, Richard James
Ruth, Anthony Ernest Paul ‘Ernie’
Ruth, Henry Alysius ‘Harry’
Ruth, Norbert ‘Joseph’
Shanks, Kathleen "Kaye"
Shannon, Philip Rodney
Shouldice, Victor Wesley
Sinclair, Albert James Joseph
Smith, Cecil Gordon
Smith, Cora ‘Beatrice’
Smith, Percy John
Summers, Forest Oron
Watson, James
White, David George
White, Edward Victor
Wilson, Robert James
Winch, John Henry
Wood, G.
Woods, Henry Edward
Wright, William James