1st Battalion

1914 – 1918

The 1st Canadian Infantry Battalion was created on September 2, 1914, with recruits from “Military District 1”, which was Western Ontario. It arrived in England on October 14, 1914. The battalion became part of the 1st Canadian Division, 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade, where it saw action at Ypres and along the western front. The 1st Battalion returned to Canada on April 21, 1919, and was demobilized on April 24, 1919 (and disbanded soon after).

For more images and artifacts featuring the 1st Battalion, visit Bruce County Museum’s Online Collections site: 1st Battalion, Bruce County Museum Online Collections.

For information about the War Diaries of the 1st Battalion, visit the Library and Archives Canada site: Archives Search 1st Canadian Infantry Battalion.


Acret, Wilfred Maitland
Agnew, James
Agombar, Bert
Aiken, Milton John
Aitchison, Alymer
Ankenmann, George Arthur
Babcock, Thomas
Baker, James Daniel
Barber, William Walter
Bartley, Charles Henry
Beck, Arthur Joseph
Becker, John Herman
Boyle, Ernest
Bridge, Harold Percy
Bulger, Thomas Charles
Caldwell, William Henry
Campbell, Alexander Collin
Cleave, James Garfield
Cole, George Hildreth
Collins, Alfred
Denny (a.k.a. Dennie), Adam
Desmond, Daniel Joseph
Douglas, John Miller
Ebel, William "Robert"
Edwards, Charles
Farley, John Brill
Farquharson, Norman William
Finlayson, John Stanley
Fraser, James Elgin
Fraser, William L.
Fry, Carl Roberts
Geddes, John Rowand
Gillies, Clifford Ernest
Godfrey, Arthur Frederick
Gooch, Alfred William
Gray, Robert John
Green, George Leslie
Groves, Albert William
Hampson, Charles
Henry, Alexander Bruce
Herd, Frederick Thomas
Hudson, John Wesley
James, Charles Henry
Jewitt, William Albert
Johnstone, James Joseph
Kaufman, Norman Emerson
Kelly, Richard Thomas
King, Thomas Richard
Knight, George
Krueger, Clarence R. J.
Kyte, Edward Thomas
MacArthur, George Duncan
Mann, Charles William
Marshall, Harry
McDonald, Murdock Norman
McDonald, Norman
McDougall, Arthur
McElrea, Herbert Samuel
McFadyen, Duncan Franklin "Frank"
McFarlane, Robert Wilfrid
McGillivray, Donald Duncan
McKelvie, Gordon Cruickshank
McKelvie, Harvey Melvin
McKenzie, William Angus
McLay, Daniel
McLay, Murdock
McLean, Melville
McNeill, Neil Alexander
McPherson / Macpherson, Stuart
Miller, James
Mourant, Thomas George
Nickel, Clarence John
O"Neil / ONeil, John Hewitt
Parrott, Albert Edward
Parsons, James Ernest
Peterbaugh, John Alexander
Plante, Chester
Proud, Melville Douglas
Ramsden, Herbert
Robinson, Bernard Seabury
Robinson, Frederec Wilfred ("Fritz")
Ruhl, William Alfred
Shields, John William
Stewart, James Downing
Taylor, George Ross
Threndyle, Hugh Andrew
Turner, Robert Melville
White, William James
Whittmann, Herbert
Williams, Henry Alfred
Woods, John ("Jack")
Yorke, George John
Zettel, Urban Joseph